Send in Results

League Tables
League Results
League Fixtures
League Rules
Seeded Players

Ron Evers Trophy
DCCA Congress
Corr. Team
Junior Events

Club Information
DCCA Officials
Chess Links

Home Page

Latest News

13.10.17 - League Rule 5 has now been amended slightly...

5.10.17 - In the League Rules, please note the change to Rule 5 concerning the time limit and the use of digital clocks.

5.10.17 - In the Rules for the Ron Evers Tournament, Rule 1, concering the players eligible for a team, has been modified.

3.10.17 - The minutes of the DCCA Executive Meeting, held on 19 September, can be read here.

2.10.17 - Congratulations to our President, Bryan Bainbridge, who has received one of the ECF President's Awards for Services to Chess! The details can be found here.

5.9.17 -
An Executive Meeting of the DCCA will be held at Hetton Workingmen's Club on Tuesday 19 September at 7.15 p.m. Click here for the Agenda.

21.8.17 - The Chester-le-Steet Congress, organised by Tim Wall with arbiter assistance from Brian Towers and Paul Bielby, was held over the weekend of 18-20 August. It attracted 53 entries and  produced the following winners:
Open (FIDE-rated): Charlie Storey and David Walker 4/5.
Open results.
Major: Robert Clegg (Huddersfield) and Robert Dean (Pudsey) 4/5.
Major results.
Challengers: Vivien Webster (Calderdale) 5/5.
Challengers results.

21.8.17 - Another belated post. The DCCA Junior Championships were held on 25 March and produced the following winners:
Under-18 - Sam Neil
Under-15 - Jared Watson
Under-13 - Edwin Smith
Under-11 - Ashwin Amtharaj
Best Girl - Eleanor Lamb
However, the overall winner was a visitor, 7-year-old Daniel Shek from London!

15.8.17 - The new ECF grading list was published a couple of weeks ago. To check on individual or club grades, click here.

- Rather belatedly, here are the winners at the DCCA Congress, held in Houghton-le-Spring over the weekend of 5-7 May:
Open: Andrew Burnett (Scotland) 4½/5;
Major: David Hall (Scotland) and Robert Clegg (Huddersfield) 4/5;
Minor: Christopher Sayers (South Shields) 4/5.
Thank you to Lara Barnes for supplying the link to the full list of results.

15.8.17 - Congratulations to South Shields on winning the 2017 NCCU Senior Club Championship. On the South Shields Club website there is a report by Paul Bielby.

14.8.17 - Tim Wall is proposing to set up a North East League during the coming season. As Tim says: 'The idea is to provide serious, FIDE rated league games for ambitious, aspiring players in Cleveland, Durham and Northumberland – without having to travel long distances away from the North East.' Click here to read the proposal.

8.8.17 - Several County Durham players took part in the 104th British Championships in Llandudno from 26 July to 6 August. International Master David Eggleston had an excellent result in the British Championship itself, scoring an undefeated 6 points from 9 games, including a draw with the top seed David Howell. Click here for results.

8.8.17 - Grandmaster Danny Gormally is giving a simultaneous display at Darlington Chess Club on Monday 11 September. Contact Carl Stephens if you would like to take part (07581 069 774).

18.7.17 - The annual Chester-le-Street Congress will be held at Park View Community Centre, Church Chare, Chester-le-Street, County Durham DH3 3PZ, on August 18-20, with a £1500 prize fund. There will be four sections: Open (FIDE-rated), Major (under-160), Challengers (under-120) and Junior (born 2001 or later; under-100).

The organiser is Tim Wall, Email: timpeterwall@gmail.com

16.7.17 -The play-off for the DCCA Division B trophy has been won by South Shields, who defeated Durham City Canons 4-1 in the final. In the semi-finals South Shields needed a replay to beat Gateshead 4-1, after the first match ended 2½-2½. Durham City Canons also won 4-1 against Darlington Locos.

9.4.17 - DCCA Play Offs for Division B trophy are as follows:
Durham City Canons v Darlington Locos
South Shields v Gateshead
Games are to be played by the 14th May 2017.

9.4.17 - DCCA Play Offs for Division C trophy are as follows:
Hartlepool v Darlington Quakers
Bishop Auckland v Peterlee
Games are to be played by the 14th May 2017.

9.4.17 - The Final Scoreboards for the Individual Ch. are HERE.

19.3.17 The members of Thornaby Chess Club would like to invite all DCCA members to a one day Rapidplay event, being held in the Thornaby Pavilion, on Saturday 17th June. This event is to commemorate ten years since the club’s inception and also to remember one of our founder members, who died so tragically young in 2010, Mike Closs.
Members of the public, as well as CCA members, are also being encouraged to take part (hence the wording on the form) in an effort to attract new people to the world of club chess. Please click on the link to download a copy of the 
Entry Form.

19.3.17 - The Fourth Scoreboards for the Individual Ch. are HERE.

6.3.17 - The Third Scoreboards for the Individual Ch. are HERE.

16.1.17 The Second Scoreboards for the Individual Ch. are HERE.

1.2.16 - The Pairings for the Final Round of the Ron Evers are now on the Ron Evers page. The venue is Hartlepool and they are providing all the equipment.

29.1.17 - Durham University is holding another blitz 7pm on Tuesday 7th February at Durham Student's Union (Dunelm House, New Elvet, Durham DH1 3AN). Link to Event.

26.1.17 The Durham University fixtures are now on the League Fixtures page. Note they are listed as Home and Away, so teams know the correct board colours, but remember all their fixtures are played at their club.

16.1.17 The First Scoreboards for the Individual Ch. are HERE.

16.1.17 For details of the Durham Schools Team Ch. and Problem Solving contest on Saturday 28th January, see this Poster.

9.1.17 Details for Durham University are now available on the Club Information page and their fixtures are being added to the League Fixtures.

5.12.16 - The Pairings for the 2nd Round of the Ron Evers are now on the Ron Evers page.

The funeral service for Roger Simpson is to be held at Durham Crematorium on Wednesday 7th December at 1.30 p.m., followed by refreshments at the Duke of Wellington. So that the family has some idea of how many to cater for, if you intend to come to the pub after the service would you please inform Ken Neat by phone (0191-3864795) or email (kp.neat@ gmail.com). The Duke of Wellington (postcode DH1 3QN) is at the junction of the A167 and Lowes Barn Bank.

26.11.16 Ken Neat has told me the sad news that Roger Simpson has died, and will let us know if he hears about the funeral arrangements.

6.11.16 - The Pairings for the 1st Round of the Ron Evers are now on the Ron Evers page.

20.10.16 - The list of Seeded Players is now on the website.

4.10.16 - The League Rules have been updated.

23.9.16 - Last year's results are now being moved to the Archive.

19.9.16 - Entry details for the 2016-17 NCCU Club Championship.

25.8.16 - The August ECF grades used for the season are HERE.


Local Congress News

Durham County Congress

This will be will be held over the weekend of 2-4 March 2018 at Houghton Sports Centre. Details to follow in due course.


Northumbria Masters

This 9-round FIDE-rated event will be held in Chillingham from 14-18 February 2018.

Click here for the website.



South Shields Congress

This new Rapid Play Congress was held on 3rd July 2016. Here is a short Report.