Bryan Bainbridge, the DCCA President and League Secretary, has sent this message to all clubs:

In view of the uncertainty caused by the Coronavirus situation, it has been decided to suspend all matches in the Durham County League from Tuesday 17 March. The situation will be reviewed mid-April and a decision will be made at that time.

South Shields A have clearly won the A Division, and South Shields B are all but mathematically certain to win the B Division.

The final rounds of the Ron Evers Tournament, due to be played on Tuesday 17 March, have also been postponed.  It is hoped to play the final rounds in the summer on an appropriate date.

The future of the DCCA Congress, due to be held in early May, must also be seriously in doubt, though at the present moment no definite decision has been made.

The ECF has posted their guidance to leagues: this can be read at ECF and coronavirus guidance

Any comments please let me know. Please inform everyone in your club.

Kind regards, Bryan


Bryan Bainbridge has been sounding out clubs for their views, and for the moment it has been decided to go ahead with the Ron Evers tournament on Tuesday 17 March as well as league matches scheduled for the next couple of weeks. Of course, the situation may change rapidly.

The North East League matches due to take place on Sunday 22 March have been postponed.

And it has now been decided to postpone the Durham County Junior Championships, which were due to be held on Sunday 29 March.

N. Hall ½-½ C. Smith
S. J. Hall 1-0 J. Reddington
D. Peardon 1-0 I. Hunter
J. Robson 1-0 G. Smith
F. Stobbart 0-1 T. Dobson

Thursday 12th March 2020

S.Jefferies 0-1 K.Delidmouds
Phillip Brooks 0-1 P.Bielby
A.Proudfoot 0-1 D.Patterson
S.Gardiner 0-1 E.Czestochowski
G.Raw 0-1 J.Riddle

Wednesday 11th March 2020

Good news! Michael Siddle of Bishop Auckland Chess Club has volunteered for the post of Durham County Chess Association Secretary. Michael’s contact details can be found under the list of officials.

An Executive meeting of the DCCA will be held next month.

The 3, 4 and 5 rounds of the Ron Evers Tournament is on Tuesday 17th March 2020 at Hetton Lyons, starting time 7:00.

Ken Neat 0-1 David Walker
Paul Robson 0-1 Tim Wall
Robin Nandi 0-1 David Mooney
Steve Jefferies 0-1 Brian Towers
Jacob Walker 1-0 Christopher Sayers

Wednesday 19th February 2020